category: Travel

When An UX Designer Experienced 3 Days In Buddhist Monastery Rewalsar

When An UX Designer Experienced 3 Days In Buddhist Monastery Rewalsar

In Buddhism, the law of karma, says "for every event that occurs, there will follow another event whose existence was caused by the first, and this second event will be pleasant or unpleasant according as its cause was skillful or unskillful." Therefore, the law of Karma teaches that the responsibility for unskillful actions is borne by the person who commits them.

In these 3 days I learnt that Buddhism is not a religion, actually, it's an art of living following the teachings of the Buddha are aimed solely at liberating sentient beings from suffering.


Lama Ji's b'day celebration.

On the way Lama ji's b'day celebration

The day starts at 6 am with 30 mins deep meditation with Lama Ji and 2 rounds of Kora around Rewalsar Lake. 

Teaching time


After Kora's amazing breakfast at Monastry's cafe. 

Cafe at Buddhist Monastery


Lama Ji taught us in the Buddhist temples every day from 9:30 am to 11:30 am and 3 pm to 5 pm.

Cafe at Buddhist Monastery

Lama Ji explained to us -

The thirty-eight principles are divided into five categories:

A) Foundation Principles

1—Avoid people exerting a negative influence

2—Associate with people who exert a positive influence

3—Show respect to those who have earned it

4—Live in a suitable location

5—To have done good deeds in your past

6—Be on a suitable path

B) Supporting Principles

7—Have good learning skills

8—Have practical skills

9—Follow a code of discipline

10—Practice appropriate speech

11—Support your parents or guardians

12—Take care of your spouse and children

13—Have an appropriate livelihood and balanced lifestyle

C) Social Principles

14—Be charitable

15—Practice virtuous actions

16—Help your friends and relatives

17—Be blameless in one’s own conduct

18—Refrain from harmful acts

19—Exert great effort

20—Refrain from intoxicants

21—Be diligent in your practice

D) Individual Principles

22—Venerate those worthy of it

23—Be humble

24—Be content

25—Be grateful

26—Receive teachings at a favorable time

27—Have patience

28—Giving and listening to advice

29—Have a teacher

30—Discuss the teaching

E) Refining Principles

31—Practice self-restraint

32—Understand the four truths

33—Follow the eightfold path

34—Work towards freedom from suffering

35—Be unaffected by worldly conditions

36—Understand impermanence and nonself

37—Free yourself from defilements

38—Achieve lasting peace and true happiness

On 1st day Lama Ji introduced us to this powerful Buddhist Mantra - 

Tayata Om Gate Gate Paragate Parasamgate Bodhi Soha


What is a monastery? A monastery is a group of people, either men or women (monks or nuns), who have decided to live in seclusion and build a new society centered around religious practice. The Greek word monos, which signifies alone, is where the term "monk" originates.

In The End

“Conquer anger with non-anger. Conquer badness with goodness. Conquer meanness with generosity. Conquer dishonesty with truth.” - Buddha

In 3 days I learned that with Gratitude I can control my mind & ego because Generosity is born with gratitude and kill all negative thoughts.

Positive thinking, or an optimistic attitude, is the practice of focusing on the good in any given situation. It can have a big impact on your physical and mental health. That doesn't mean you ignore reality or make light of problems.

Thanks for reading & Keep meditating. Lots of blessings. 

Post views: 1450